Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Explaination of classes to a newbe..

Hello all!
    I'm a newbe to this site and am looking for some help in direction...
    I test props as an Independant for most all manufacturers, mainly on V6 outboards and have been a Marine tech-mostly engines-for several years, and I'm wanting to get into some racing.
    I have some plans for some older designs (late 50's, early 60's) such as the Airmarine hydro, and I'm wanting to try my hand at this...
    I'm also an aircraft mechanic and have quite a bit of experience in composites, and was wondering if any of this experience could be used to build a better Hydro than the older designs in all wood, and even what class if allowed, would a guy run in????
    I know...lots of questions, but I was hoping to discuss this with those of you in the know.
    Thanks for your time!
    Kenny
    Sanderson Propeller

Kenny, It's nice to have some new blood in the sport. I will tell you, that you are on the right track with the composite material. The two people that I would send you to for the info are Dave Bennett in St. Augustine, Fl., and Bob Trolian in Kentucky. Matt Arlt in Canada is an other source. These guys are the best it the business. Good luck.

Jerry

Comment

Classes . . .

goto--> http://www.apba-racing.com/Home.html

Click on "catagories" then click on "outboards" and/or "stock modified PRO" and also check out "J Class" if you have young `uns interested in racing.

As Jerry mentioned above, those folks have experiance wiuth composites. Bob Trolian built fiberglass hulls with balsacore. Matt Arlt built race boats using carbon fiber! Very light and strong. But most of the boats are still wood and epoxy glue. Wood is easy to work with. Wood boats can be built with no special equipment, and with good plans (MJR) or kits a total amatuer can put together a decent boat.
      carpetbagger

Comment

classes.....

OK, Thanks guys!