Unconfigured Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

UCD Boat Dyno project; Any help is appreciated!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UCD Boat Dyno project; Any help is appreciated!

Hi, my name is Ben Cunningham. I'm a senior mechanical engineering student at the University of Colorado at Denver. I am on a small senior design team that is working to develop a dyno that would work on a small boat in a lake. The platform we're working on is based on an outboard motor, using strain-gauges and accelerometers.

I was hoping to get some insight into how boats are tested for racing, and what telemetry is useful in boat performance. We're not necessarily trying to invent something new, but just trying to see if we can come up with something that would be useful on a complete boat system.

We're constantly realizing more and more variables, and things we can't control in the lake scenario, but we're working to develop ways of predicting them in order to include them in the data. One of the concepts I'd like some clarity on is "prop-slip" exactly what parameters are used to determine this efficiency.

If you'd be available and interested in helping us with this project, please let me know, and I'd love to have a discussion with you regarding our ideas, and what we're still not thinking of.

Thank you for your time,
    Ben

Dyno project

Ben your best resourse that most of us out west are familar with is a guy by the name of Bob Wartinger. He holds many of the records in Outboard racing is associated with some of the top engineering people in the country.A very interesting person to talk with. Sorry but no phone numbers can be given out without his concent. thanx. Mark.

Comment

contact

Does he subscribe to these forums often? Is there a screen name or email that I could contact him with through this system?

Thanks

Comment

Bob wartinger@boeing.com

Comment

Dyno question