Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What prop?

Hey Guy's, ...

I'm getting ready to start playing with my lake racer again. Most of my plate has been cleared off giving me some more time on the water. I am going to install a 9/16 prop shaft in a week or so.

A little info about where I was before hanging her from the rafters last December. The post covers a lot of different issues I dealt with and were solved with the FANTASTIC advice from all. http://www.hydroracer.net/forums/showthread.php?t=25003

Where should I start?

P.S. ... I just bought a vinyl cutter and was wondering if anyone knows of any cool hydro graphics are?

Regards
    Bill
    Last edited by BillCNC; 06-25-2013, 02:38 PM.

Ok, ... let's try this.

Is there any websites with some baseline info on picking a prop for a 102?

Bill

Comment

Prop 102

Bill

No, the answer is probably here or on BRF. I have no experience with the 102 but I run a 3 blade 6.7" dia x 11" pitch on my Y80 with 14:16 gears on a pickle hydro and it spins at about 7000 crank rpm and runs about 64mph. The 102 has 14:15 gears so I would guess a similiar diameter and around 11.5 to 12 pitch if the engine is in good shape. Also depends on prop type either a cleaver or round ear 3 blade. Each does different things. You want to get those sponsons off the water.

You are going to have to test but to start would be to pick up a CSH prop on this site from a racer who has a 102 or a 302 for the right price and there is a post for some right now but not sure what they were for so ask the seller.

http://www.hydroracer.net/forums/sho...threadid=26215

But remember a good prop to the seller may be a fair prop to the buyer, different boat, setup and engine shape is the main base difference. Your boat is not anywhere near what a CSH is today so in your case much trial is required. Hope you can find a prop without spending too much on collecting them to find a good one?