Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Racer with question

Hello to every one
    I just bought a rig with hardwear and I would like to know if some one or more than one can help the new guy? I have a 2002 O'conner csh hydro with no motor, no cut suit, I have the M2000 helmet L-2K. I need to know what motor would best fit the boat 102 or 302 or some thing else? I'm new to all this. I saw the races at lock haven and now I want to go racing. Is there any one that has a suit in Lg size that they would like to sell? I'm on a very tight budget so please be kind on price please.

Thanks for the great site and Hope to meet and help if I can every one at the races and hope to be race ready by next year season.

Thanks again
    Bryan
    "Bluestreak"
    I have the need for speed but not
    the bank account.

7-P pro,mod,soAPBA,DVORA,TRORA

Some advice

Hi Bryan,

The 102 or 302 will fit on the transom - the only difference being the height of the tower housing.

If the boat was built for a 302 then either motor may fit - you may have to build up the height of the transom or use a pile of shim sticks if you run a 102.

Conversely, if it was built for a 102 then you may need to cut down the height of the transom to work with a 302.

I believe the Yamato model 80 (20ss class) is similar in height to a 102.

As far as the cut suit - check out the buy/sell section in the next few months as people may be looking for new gear at the end of the season and selling their used stuff.

I would also suggest going to Millville NJ, the second weekend in October for the race - there are a lot of knowledgeable people there who may have some equipment for sale, or can point you in the right direction.

Hope this helps,
    Sean

Comment

advice

never listen to Sean Augustine.

...just kidding, Sean!
      The Runne's: Born with plastic sporks in their mouths.

Comment