Plug Wires 102

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plug Wires 102

Anyone replace their plug wires on a Yamato 102? How are they attached to the coil? Spoke with Ric M, he thought they were just glued in, and the coil had a spike in it.

Thanks
    Mark
    Mark 55P
    Team Tower
    Hydroplane Division

Correct. Do not break the spike.
    bill b

Comment

Wires

He is correct. just pull the wire out and replace.
      question, why are you wanting to do this?????????

Comment

Originally posted by S Henderson View Post
        He is correct. just pull the wire out and replace.
        question, why are you wanting to do this?????????
        Cause they are 28 years old. Same reason I am getting a head with 14mm plug threads, so I don't have to use 20+ year old plugs.

I am a rookie, and you know how we are, just can't help fiddling with stuff.
        Mark 55P
        Team Tower
        Hydroplane Division

Comment

wire replace

Make sure there is no corrosion in the coil plug wire recess. I put dielectric grease in recess before the wire is pushed in and then seal around entrance with silicone.
          "Keep Move'n" life is catching up!
          No man's life, liberty or property are safe while the legislature is in session.

Comment

Thanks everyone. Diving into the project shortly. Let you know how it turns out.
            Mark 55P
            Team Tower
            Hydroplane Division

Comment

plug wire

The wire on the 102 does NOT have a spike in it like
              the 80 coil.The wire is solid coming out of the coil to
              the plug wire.Need to check with Tom Johnston how
              to change plug wire
              Tom

Comment

102 wires

yes!!! they do have a spike . just replaced mine! Rick at rpm and bill boyes are write.
                Attached Files

Comment

If the spike is broken TJ is good as he uses a drammell and cuts away material around the spike.
                  bill b

Comment