Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Racing Question

Hey Everyone,
    I'm new to the racing scene and I don't have the cash to buy a real racing engine (like an OMC 15A or any kind of engine with the racing gearcase) because I'm only 17. I have Glen-L Tiny Titan which is 8 ft long and it is equipped with a 1974 OMC Evinrude 15 hp that has a 9.5" X 12.5" prop. I was just wondering if there is a racing class that only racing fishing motors like mine?
    Thanks a bunch,
    Dan

The short answer is no. Sorry, man. However, you could still get involved with what you do have. Any club would likely be glad to have you as a course patrol boat. The good news is racers are very generous in nature and if you hang around them long enough, some racing equipment might find you at a very fair price. Best of luck,

Kyle
    28-R

Comment

Actually - yes: http://www.dillon-racing.com/

Slightly larger motors

As interest in this grows I anticipate it moving eastward. You will have time to find a motor and build another boat.

Comment

We hope to be moving a little ways East this summer. We're working on bringing our GT Pro class to the F1 Prop Tour race in Trenton, MI this July.

GT Pro has been an exclusively Minnesota class, but there are pockets of interest developing in Florida and Louisiana. Our appearance at the OPC Nationals last summer, and now Trenton, and hopefully another Kankakee race represtent our effort to bring the class to the country.

Nothing that I know of is happening in the northeast, but all that's required is for someone to step up and get the ball rolling. Easy to say, harder to do.

Boatboy88 -- you need a couple of friends to join you, and a club willing to let you race at their events. Find the club nearest you and see what they are willing to do. Clubs are listed on the APBA website: http://www.apba-racing.com/index.html
        Tunnelboat and V-bottom Plans for 15-35 hp, 40-60 hp, 60-80 hp