Capsuled runabout

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Capsuled runabout

Took these pictures several years ago in the pits of Depue. Found this very interesting, what ever came of this idea? Didn't look too practical or safe to me, but i'm a hydro driver.
    Attached Files

I hope someone can shed some light on this. It sure is weird??????????

Comment

500ccR

This was an experimental 500ccR boat that was built by Mike Krier. If I remember correctly, it was built for the Brinkman family. The oldest of the Brinkman brothers, Todd, had been seriously injured in a 500ccR accident. This was an attempt to get a capsule in a runabout. Rich Krier raced it for a few years. Having a capsule in the boat made it difficult to be competitive- similar to how the performance of the hydros suffered when the capsules were but in them.

Comment

Was it a matter of the CG being too high? It sure looks like that would be the case.

Comment

capsule runabout

I watched that boat at dePue 94 or 96 going in a straight line and hook and barrell roll! I thought good luck with that gobb o S%#+ !!

Comment

Capsule runabout

I think that one consideration with a capsule is you inability to lean over or move around in general.... especially in a runabout. The capsules do increase the weight of the boat and I would have to agree that they raise the CG as well. I have to be honest in my remarks ans say that I don't really like capsules much....

Comment

This boat was still a kneeler wasn't it? I don't see how one could actually sit in it...not enough headroom and you're right, you couldn't very well shift your weight in the turns.

Comment

capsule

No! a sitting capsule with not much control from what i had seen! maybe hang more sissy fins on it

Comment

Capsule runabout