# American Power Boat Association Stock Outboard Category Meeting 113th Annual Meeting Los Angeles, CA. January 26-28, 2017

#### I. Call to Order

Meeting called to order by Chairman Jeff Brewster at 10:30 am on Thursday, January 26, 2017

### II. Opening Ceremonies

- a. Pledge of Allegiance
- b. Moment of silence The chair read the words of Steve Noury that was read to all at the SSOA banquet held previously in honor of our drivers Stephen Joy and Mark Greene that we lost last September in Taunton, Massachusetts.
- c. Introductions *Each commissioner and the chair shared something about themselves and their racing career.*
- d. Meeting specifics, lunch, breaks, etc.

#### III. Oath of New Commission Members

Do you and each of you solemnly swear or affirm that you will faithfully discharge the office of Stock Outboard Racing Commissioner and that you will uphold and defend the rules and by-laws of the American Power Boat Association and the rules of the Stock Outboard Category? If so, say 'I do'.

#### IV. Roll Call

Mike Akerstrom – Region 1
Scott Clark – Region 2
Ed Runne – Region 3
John Runne – Region 4
Howie Nichols – Region 5
Tom Johnston – Region 6
Mark Kurz – Region 6
Brian Mitchell\* – Region 6
Don Allen – Region 7
Ed Hearn – Region 7
Ron Magnuson - Region 10
Matt Yarno - Region 10
Steve Wilde – Region 11
David Hale – Region 12

Asterisk (\*) = First year on the SORC

All commissioners above were present except Mark Kurz.

### V. 2016 Chairman's Report

A good season was enjoyed with great competition at our championship events. The 300SSH class continues to grow beyond expectations and our rule books continue to get better and more organized.

### VI. Appointment of Committees

**Technical Committee:** 

OMC: Ron France
Mercury: Tom Smith
Tohatsu: Alex Poliakoff
Hot Rod: Cooper Jess
Sidewinder: Ed Runne
Yamato: Tom Johnston

Boat Tech Committee: Brian Trolian, Mike Pavlick & Dave Bennett

<u>300SSH Committee:</u> Dave Anderson, Tom Johnston, David Hale, Jean Mackay-Schwartz, Mike Deck, Steve Noury and Jeff Brewster

<u>300SSH Service Centers</u>: Ric Montoya, Jerry Davids, Roger Carr, Alex Poliakoff and Tom Johnston.

<u>Website Committee:</u> requesting volunteers (again) <u>Promotional Committee:</u> requesting volunteers (again)

Tammy Dawe Advocate Award Committee:

Jeff Conant, Dave Anderson and Jean Mackay - Schwartz.

SO Chief Inspector: Tom Johnston

SO Category Representative: Dave Anderson

SO Chief Referee: Steve Noury SO Chief Scorer: Jill Glossner

Motion to approve by Don Allen Motion carries unanimously

## VII. Approval of Annual Meeting Agenda

Motion to approve by Howie Nichols Motion carries unanimously

#### VIII. Manufacturers' Reports

a. Tohatsu – Alex Poliakoff

No engines sold last season to APBA members. A list of requests was presented and discussed. The results of which are listed in the technical section of these minutes.

b. Yamato - Ric Montoya &/or Tom Johnston

Explained motors sold in the past and parts out of manufacture. Ric thanked the SORC for keeping the Yamato classes alive.

c. Sidewinder – Ed Runne &/or Ron Selewach

Good year with some vendor issues. Has new flex plate flywheel to show. 100 engines out, but gear cases are running out. 25 castings coming. Cost of engines will go up due to manufacture costs. Head gaskets are correct with the 3 holes on top. It is in the manual for the torque of all the nuts and bolts. The new flex plate flywheel was presented and will be a manufacturer change.

#### IX. Old Business

a. Approval of Minutes from 112th Annual Meeting.

The chair stated, "If there are no corrections, the minutes from Chicago stand as shown on the APBA Resource page".

Motion to approve by Howie Nichols

Motion carries unanimously

b. Approval of Decisions of Race Committees and Referees for 2016.

Motion to approve by Howie Nichols Motion carries unanimously

- c. 2017 Championship Reports
  - i. Eastern Winter Nationals- Tabor City, NC April 7 9

See entries in XI. Other Matters

ii. Western Winter Nationals- Castle Rock, WA May 6 & 7

*Kyle Bahl reported and thanked the SORC for the date extension. All classes invited, plus the 45sst class possibly.* 

iii. Summer Nationals- Grass Lake, MI July 24 – 29

Brian Trolian & Mark Miskerik will be in charge of the nationals committee within MHRA. As of this time, the race committee has not been chosen.

iv. Marathon Nationals- Indian River, MI August 12 & 13

No report, due to the absence of Mark Kurz.

- d. 2018 Championship Reports
  - i. Summer Nationals- Moses Lake, WA July 29 August 5

Anna Cappelletti reported that all is on schedule for Stock, Mod and J.

- ii. Marathon Nationals- Indian River, MI August 11 & 12
- e. 2019 Championship Reports
  - i. Summer Nationals- Wakefield, MI July 28 August 4

Don Allen reported that he or Bill Pavlick will most likely be the pre-race chairman. The Modified Category may not come, not sure yet. If so, there is a possibility of a regular race to be held the weekend before.

ii. Marathon Nationals- Indian River, MI August 10 & 11

**Note:** At this time a discussion was held on the possibility of a change in the appeals process for driving and course rules. This is due to an earlier meeting of race management.

Ed Hearn cautioned that if this passes, many appeals would come towards the SORC. He also stated that this can be avoided by more use of the yellow card system instead of disqualification especially at championship events.

#### Motion by Ed Hearn:

Request of the race committees; please don't send us these appeals, use the yellow card system instead.

For: 11

Against: Scott Clark Abstention: Steve Wilde

Motion Carries

Later in the meeting, it was learned that in another session of the race & rules committee, this proposal did not pass.

- f. Approval of 2016 Awards.
  - i. Hall of Champion Inductees
    - 1. Terry Kerr with 22 pts.
    - 2. Kyle Lewis with 15 pts.
    - 3. Joe Pater with 15 pts.
  - ii. Gerald Waldman Award
  - Joe Pater from Saint Joseph, MI. In 20SSH, Joe earned 8,930 points in 22 races.
  - iii. Henry Menzies Award
  - Joe Pater from Saint Joseph, MI.Joe earned 28,448 points in 75 races.
  - iv. Rookie of the Year
  - Paul Teike from Levering, MI.
  - v. Craig Dewald Award
  - Jake Alkema from Commerce Twp., MI. Jake earned 4450 points in 10 races.

vi. Tammy Dawe Advocate Award – *Tom Johnston of Britton, MI.* 

Motion to approve by Howie Nichols Motion carries unanimously