Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yamato 202 timing question

Hi

I'm hoping for a bit of clarification with setting the timing on my Yamato as this is my first time attempting this.
    I'm using the Setting the point gap and the ignition timing on a Yamato 80 & 102 instructions from yamatoracing.com since my 202 has the 102 point ignitions.

My first question is what position do you have the spark advance lever in while setting the timing?

Started by following the instructions, I got to step 8 and assumed Rotate magneto was meaning the spark advance lever. Started to rotated the lever til the points just started to open and realised something wasn't right as the lever was nowhere near the magneto stop bolt area. The advance was in the retard position on the motor while I was following the steps. Was this a newbie move?

I thought I would ask for some advice on here before continuing on.

1) Remove starter pulley
    2) Remove spark plugs
    3) Rotate crank till point follower is on the tallest part of the point cam. On the 102 it is where the cam key is.
    4) Set point gap on both points to 0.012”-0.016”, I prefer
    gapping to 0.012”.

5) Install dial indicator in cylinder #1. Rotate engine to top dead
    center. Zero dial indicator. Rotate engine backwards (counter clockwise) till points close (recommend using a buzz box). Note how many thousands on the dial indicator.

6) Install dial indicator in cylinder #2. Rotate engine to TDC. Zero dial indicator. Rotate engine backwards till points close. Note how many thousands on the dial indicator.

7) Take cylinder with the highest reading and install the dial indicator in that cylinder. Rotate the engine to TDC. Zero the dial indicator. Rotate the engine backwards to desired setting. Factory recommended specs for the 102 is .200”-.250” BTDC.

8) Rotate magneto to the position where the points are just opening or closing (recommend using the buzz box). Rotating the engine a few