Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IRS Scam

hi all,

as some of you know I am an accountant. over the past year I have received several calls from my tax clients who have been called by someone saying that they are from the IRS. let me say this..... THE IRS DOES NOT MAKE PHONE CALLS TO GET MONEY FROM YOU. please le all your friends know this. I have been having fun with several of the scammers calling them and asking how the scam is going. based on the scent from the scammers the calls are coming from india.

I did call one of the numbers today and got a recorded advertisement from magic jack. it seems the scammers are using magic jack to make the calls. the numbers that have been used for the scam have been:

202.241.6231(now a magic jack ad)
    716.616.9070(current number being used)

please alert your friends about the scam.

frank
    52-E

UPDATE........

I wrote magic jack an email alerting them about the abuse of their product. they replied to me and said they would investigate and take action if abuse was discovered. well 2 days later the two still active numbers were shut down!!!!!!

if you get a irs scam call you can report the abuse to ReportAbuse@magicjack.com

they will take action.

frank

Comment

Got a message on my machine at home, their new number is 855-999-8001

Comment

yellowjacket, double check the number. the area code may be wrong, I'm not getting it to ring. thanks.

Comment

That was what they left on the machine, I googled the number and lots of others have reported it as claiming they are from the IRS too, so I'm not the only one who is getting these as robo calls..

Comment

yellowjacket, the nerve of the scammer, he hung up on me. I only asked him how his scam was going. he asked why I thought it was a scam. well I said you just told me you were located in Washington, dc yet your area code is not from there. then he hung up on me. the nerve of him